Sevilla D15 - Social Gatherings

It's Friday evening and that means people are outdoors and socializing -- heck, it doesn't even need to be Friday night: it just happens any  evening ;)

We came across this group of people who started an impromptu flamenco sing along, complete with guitar, hand clapping and a booming voice. So we stayed a while and rejoined the tour in progress after a bit. As soon as that was over (nice guide, good info), a colleague and I returned to the scene for a couple of drinks and some tapas. Three hours later, it is now 10:30pm and I'm scrambling to put up this blip before I crash!

Earlier today, we had a second lecture on the Golden Age of Sevilla: amazing, really! I'll have to tell you more about this when I'm halfway conscious... This was followed by a guided visit of the Museo de las Bellas Artes, which features some really nice Velaquez and Murillo pieces (a detail of a Murillo in the extra: he does chubby cheeked babies/angels well ;) The latter part of the tour was a bit lost on me because by then it was 2pm and all I'd had to eat was a breakfast bar. Before I embarrassed myself and fainted from hunger, a group member and I dashed out and plunked down at the very first tapas bar we found and gulfed down a much needed lunch. How do you spell relief? ;)

Another full day tomorrow with a visit to an orange plantation in the early part of the day and a visit (by candlelight) of an old hospital.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.