Cawfields

I left Northumberland this morning and headed west towards Carlisle. Not the most direct route but one I much prefer to the Leeds - Nottingham route. It also gives me the opportunity to stop for a blip along Hadrian's Wall. There were a few places I would have liked to go but I thought they might be a bit busy to get a clear shot on a Sunday. I stopped at Cawfields and took a few shots towards the quarry face from the car park end of the lake. I had imagined that the Romans had used this quarry to build the wall but I discovered that the quarry is much later and destroyed part of the wall. It sounds like a lot of the rock was quarried for road building in the 20th century as the stone is particularly hard wearing for roads. I've added a couple of extras of the wall beyond the quarry taken from the high point of the ridge.

I continued on my way and had a good journey. It was a little slow in the usual road works places where they're upgrading the M6 to smart motorway but I arrived home at 6.30 which isn't too bad considering the blip stop and the three stops I made to take a break.

Thanks for all your attention while I've not had time or internet speed to comment. I hope things will gradually return to normal now. I'll be adding Skye pics to my trip album as soon as I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.