TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~The Hummingbird Bush~

~Justicia Californica Chiparosa~

This plant's flowers are an Hummingbird magnet. I never see any pollen loving insects around this plant, I'm guessing that the flower is too long and tubular for easy access, other than the long beak and tongue of the Hummingbird. While in my yard I am a witness to many a pitch battle between these very territorial little birds. While defending their precious Justica Plant their aerial clashes will lead to soaring hundreds of feet into the air or will navigate at breakneck speeds just inches off the ground. I have actually felt compelled to duck or dodge the combatants as they rush straight at me. This is more of an involuntary reaction on my part, as their flying prowess would never allow them to crash into me, I hope! If one were to hit me at such a turbo-speed, with that long sharp beak, they would drill right through me and come out the other side of ol' BikerJim and continuing on with their brawl without so much as a "Well excuse me!"

Hope you enjoy my flowers and blue skies, TucsonJim ;o)


Larger Justicia Flower

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.