Our Catbirds have returned.

I was outside adding new oranges to a feeder and I heard them, our catbirds, so beloved and thought lost. I have to admit that my eyes filled up(not a surprise, I tear up at good and bad news), and I rushed in for the old Nikon and my 300mm lens. They always nest in a big bush beside the house and there they were, collecting nesting material, singing, mewing and making that 'chew-it' sound we have missed. Two weeks late was a bit worrying.
My brother just arrived in Machiasport at our old summer place for a week and was greeted by the pair of Catbirds we love there as well. 

For the Record,
This day came in cloudy and cool, but the sun appeared by midmorning. 

All hands happy about our catbirds. These simple things mean a lot in these chaotic times. Mother Nature can heal a worn soul. Here's a friend I saw this morning having some breakfast on leaves in the woods instead of gobbling some of our precious species near the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.