Overnight Stay in Épernay

It's the start of an (almost) 2 week holiday for me (Annie). I had some time off in the pot that I needed to take, so I've headed off down across the water to go and visit one of my best friends. She's in Switzerland - a bit far for a day's drive for one person - so tonight I'm staying in the very beautiful French town of Épernay.

I left beautiful blue skies behind me in England, and popped out of the Eurotunnel in France to grey, dull skies. Not what I'd ordered! Still, an easy drive down to Epernay meant I had time to walk up the impressive Rue de Champagne. Home to many large Champagne houses, it's an impressive sight. The blip is the grand courtyard of Boizel.

It's been a hard few months, so it'll take a while to switch off. On the first day of the UK’s Mental Awareness Week, it’s important to take time to look around at your stresses and those around you. For me, my job (which I do enjoy) drains my mental reserves each day, leaving a tired shell behind. Family, friends - it’s hard to fit it all in. And there's always other stuff still to do (or worry about not doing), like support on Blip: it’s always lurking there as a worry. So even the concept of "switch off" isn't as off as one might imagine. Sometimes I wish the Internet could just be switched off for a bit... It’s important to take these moments and consider the strains on your life - and try to reclaim some calm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.