My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Marathon Man

I couldn't really publish any other picture for today could I?

This is me -trying to look proud- at the end of the Dublin marathon...I felt like I was about to die...or at the very least that my legs were about to fall off and my lungs burst through my chest.

But I finished, and in a pb too, of 3 hours 15 minutes - 3:15:19

It's a lovely course, especially through the first half and Phoenix Park -it's a first for me, being jeered cheered on by monkeys as we went past the zoo.

I went through the 11 mile mark before I even noticed it and felt relatively good all the way through 20, 21, 22, 23...and then in the last 5k I blew up, completely. Hence me looking so drained at the end, but hey it was still a pb!
After getting my goodybag I think I pretty much collapsed into Laura's arms.

So my own private Florence Nightingale looked after me -hot chocolate works wonders when you're shivering that much you can barely hold the cup- and got me back to resembling a human being again. At which point we decided to pay a visit to the Guinness Storehouse, the highlight of which is a free pint of the black stuff in the gravity bar. It was so nice being able to relax in the 360 degree view bar with a nice cold pint. Laura wasn't quite so sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.