Red Peony

First week of my flower photography course with Emma Davies Photography. It's a reprise of the beta course on which I enrolled in the Autumn. This time we know we're only going to get four weeks of attention.

So the first project was to take a photo of a single large flower against a dark background. As you see. This photo was taken with my Canon 5dmkiv using a 2.8 24-70mm lens at 50mm. I also used my Fuji x-t2 fitted with the lensbaby velvet. The Canon photo needed far more serious cropping than the Fuji but it still looks OK. I prefer it because I used a brighter lens.

On the whole, this exercise worked better than when I did it the first time round, but I'm not happy about the cropping. I did also manage to use the PhotoPills app on my phone to calculate depth of field. Both the fuji and Canon photos didn't record white balance accurately. It's something about the colour red. I had to change the white balance in Lightroom to try and reach the colour that I thought I could see.

A bit of luck that the peony bush has come into bloom this week. It only has flowers for around two weeks in the year. Bit difficult for me to go out and browse florists at the moment.

Had a super time at camera club last night. We were given nine photos. The task was to 'improve' them in some way. My team did OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.