Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Last Day before Ramadan

SO tired after yesterday evening! We got home after midnight and I had to go straight to bed, so I will do yesterday's blip after I finish this.

Ramadan has been declared tomorrow thereby making today the last "normal" day for a month. Everyone is trying to squeeze things that involve eating during the day to be done by today. The "landlord" for the office organised a lunch for all their tenants. We reckoned it was a good opportunity to do some networking, so G arranged to have a shorter day so she could be at lunch.

Best made plans etc. for the first time in ages, there was a huge traffic jam and long tailbacks on the route we normally take to G's school, resulting in her shorter day being even shorter! We're so pleased we made the effort as we got to chat with a lovely group of architects/interior designers, one of whom had done the interior design of Sheikh Mohammed's yacht.

Whilst in the building, I took some more shots of the monkeys in the hotel lobby. We were well on our way home, drinking spice tea at the beach when I realised my laptop wasn't with us. A call to the hotel confirmed it had been left there, so back again to pick it up. In between, I had an encouraging phone call with another payment gateway provider. Shattered at the end of the day.

Oops, forgot to mention the most exciting thing that happened today... I woke to an overcast sky. We actually had a thunderstorm and rain! I don't think I've ever seen the flame tree outside the window watered from above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.