THE RIVER TYNE

First of all I must congratulate everyone who commented yesterday and guessed correctly that my blip was of an old fashioned bottle opener. It was far too easy wasn't it.

Went to Morrisons as usual  this morning.  When I got back I had to decide where to head for to get todays blip shot.  The Wide  Wednesday theme is " water " so I had planned to head for the seaside - South Shields probably.  But the weather was against that idea.  Overnight we had heavy rain and today it was really cold, windy and cloudy.  Such a change from the lovely weather we have been having.  So the seaside was out.  I decided to head for the River Tyne. 

I love it down there. I had a look in The Sage and then walked over to The Baltic Art Gallery where I went up to the 4th floor viewing platform to check out the kittiwakes which were nesting along the side of the building.  I have put a couple of photos in my Extras.

The view for the 4th floor is wonderful and I took loads of photos.  See the Extra shot view of the River, The Sage and The Millennium Bridge. My main blip shot shows the Tyne Bridge, of course, and the lovely buildings along the Quayside. Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting the challenge.

I crossed over the Millennium Bridge to get to the Newcastle side of the river and was surprised to see Neil running along.  I knew he had a day off and was planning to run and I knew his usual running route took him along The Quayside  - but of course I didn't expect to see him.  He waved --- and carried on running.  He was in the " zone " and couldn't stop or else he would lose the rhythm.  He messaged me later to let me know that he had managed to do the Half Marathon distance of 13½ miles. His training for The Great North Run seems to be going well.

Then I got the shuttle bus up to the centre of town and had a mooch around Marks and Spencer.  I got a Per Una T Shirt.  ( 20% off with my Sparks card ).

Steps today  - 12,532

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.