But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Portmore Loch.

The club run was a bit far for me today, so I pootled down to Portmore to make the most of the good weather and the lack of recent rain; the ground can get quite boggy around here. This is a panorama, two pictures giving the equivalent of about 15 mm on full frame and so should qualify for this week’s widwed challenge with its “water” theme.
 
I managed to circumnavigate the loch, though it was a bit of a challenge, a light-weight bike would have been easier, I could have carried it rather than drag the one I had through the undergrowth. I was actually following paths, in fact I saw the hind who I think made them; I saw no evidence that any human had ever been there before me.
 
After a lunch at the Scots Pine which consisted of what the young lady serving it claimed was Brie and onion soup, but tasted quite distinctly like cauliflower cheese and was quite delicious, I went on up to the Polish Mapa Scotland for the first time since it was completed and officially opened. The land mass is now surrounded by water though there appears to be a lot of dirty water flowing down the Clyde. I had intended to use a panorama of the map today, but the bridge camera isn’t up to producing a suitable set of images while looking down from the viewing platform. That will have to wait for another day.
 
While I was there, a gentleman broke off boring the pants off a young couple with his extensive knowledge of the project to home in on me. Unfortunately for him, I knew more about it than he did and had finished with the map and moved on to complete the full history of Wojtek, the bear enlisted into the Polish army during the war, before he managed to escape. All in all, it was a good day.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting today's challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.