Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise over Parkhouse Hill

Getting up at 4 am should never be taken lightly, but on this occasion I intended to drive up into the Peak District to be in position to photograph the sun rising over Parkhouse Hill. Walking from Hollinscough at 5:30 am along tracks and then climbing up the northern flank of Chrome Hill was also an interesting proposition, made easier by the moonlight.

I find these hills fascinating, sitting there in stark contradication to the softer rolling hills that surround them. They are so different to the other hills because of their geology. These are exposed limestone reefs in contrast to the softer gritstone which is found more widely in the area.

I enjoy watching the changing colours of pre-dawn and have photographs from about 6:30 am onwards but it was at the point, when the photograph was taken, that the scene really came alive. No level of filtration could control the light fully or stop the flaring although I have cloned out the worst of the flare spots. The lens had a 0.9 hard grad and 0.75 soft grad to try and control the intensity of light.

I took many more photographs during the day and was somewhat spoilt for choice, but given that my major aim was to be in this position at this time to make this image, I felt obliged to blip it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.