Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sham Bridge, Chillington Estate

Another lunchtime walk found me in unfamiliar territory at the rear of Chillington Estate. I found myself adjacent to The Pool on the estate and this sham bridge, designed by Capability Brown. A small plaque nearby indicated that it was used to catch ducks to supply the hall's kitchens.

I had already realised that I'd found myself on private land and this was confirmed shortly afterwards when I was met by the estate manager walking his dogs. I've got to say he treated me in a very friendly way considering I was trespassing on private land! I've been walking on lawful footpaths and been treated far worse by land owners.

We chatted and I explained I was looking for images to publish on this journal. He kindly gave me his email address and I am going to make contact and formally ask whether I can get permission to re-visit on occasion to capture the scenes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.