Farewell BVI

Time sure does fly when you're busy busy busy, sat on the plane it all seems a bit of a blur already.

It's been a place with stunningly beautiful parts, but I'm not sure if they'll recover in this generation from the devastation I've seen.
I've met some wonderful people and it was great to spend some quality time with Pete and Yukari. Everyone seems very sure we'll all be back, and I can certainly see how it's a place and people that captivate.
But there's still that lingering but.
I've loved helping and passing on skills, but this is a relatively affluent country that could do a lot lot more to help itself and its people. I can't deny that people are living through some exceptional hardship, I'm just not sure they should be.
But perhaps helping them is simply the right human thing to do rather than the right political thing to do.
Either way it's been a very special trip and I'm very glad I came. Even if I am now shattered lol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.