Journey 2 Ithaki

By spartan

On an Iron Bird...

...to my homeland

Dad's mum, my other grandma lived deep in the forests of Russia for many years when she met my granddad who took her to their beautiful farm there. She described life there idyllic, with their horses, dogs, the wild animals and how they managed to have a beautiful self sufficient life without even having to travel to the cities. She told great stories of their time there, Russian state though was always a bizarre and full of secrets one and at some point they head back to Greece leaving everything behind. I was the first one from the family to travel to those forests and locate the old farm and the house that was never touched but we never managed to bring it back to the family, although my dad, a diplomat himself had a heated, a very heated conversation with the Russian ambassador in Athens. In one of those stories grandma mentioned these two worlds referring to the planes that would fly in the sky ...she said they will be one day '????????? ??????' iron birds in the sky that will carry people between countries in hours. And she was right... My granddad was actually lucky to experience two different centuries and that I always considered cool.

So after last night s ultra run in the dark that I had to bring down to 36 miles from 45 originally planned, I decided to fly back home, my Greek home. It was a very hard off road run and it rained relentlessly but as always all I had to do is close my eyes, become one with the elements and gallop on the moors and through the woods. I was torn and I was not sure at all if I should fly...my soul wants to be in Yorkshire to be close to my muse, close to that magic soul, the soul that makes me melt and dream night and day. We all need a soul like this next to us, deep in our heart!!!

I did fly out though arriving at the airport, always travelling light, nearly last minute to board the plane, shed some emotional tears and dream on the plane of moments in time so magical.

The door of the magic plane opened and the heat hit my face like a nomad in the desert. I felt joy, my soul lifted above the ground and gazed at the beauty of the island. I was back again to the endless chatttering, the laughter, the freedom, the big blue, but it was different.

I am now 2028 miles away from my Yorkshire home and close to the big blue, close to my family, recovering, swimming, feeling the warmth of the sun. What I wish doesn't really have to be said here, all I want to say is that I am really happy I am back, I feel free, I feel the warrior inside me ready to surround himself with the most gorgeous energies but my heart and mind missing that wonderful magical soul.

Sweet dreams all, I have been sleepless again and tonight I am planning to allow Morpheus to take me away, rest my body and soul but also fly ...............

Good night

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.