The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Wootton Bassett (Wednesday 16th May 2018)

Yesterday, after the previous day's indecision I did I wide-ranging tour all over North Wiltshire. My first call was at Templars Firs to check on the water voles, but again they were not forthcoming. I did see this grey heron who was in the process of landing in the tree until it noticed me with my camera raised and changed its mind, flying away instead.

As well as calling in at the Jubilee Lake and seeing a pair of Canada geese with their gosling chicks, visiting the market in the town centre and a garden centre nearby, I ventured on to the newish Waitrose at Wichelstowe, Swindon which is also on the Wilts and Berks canal.

I knew there had been works going on and was hoping to see a fresh watered section, but in fact the reverse was the case and the stretch beside the supermarket had been drained. Something was being built opposite and further along, and extensive work was being undertaken on the canal to the north.

Afterwards I drove down to the other end of the Templars Firs stretch, below the Sally Pussey, and was pleased to see the female swan (see Extras) who hadn't been there on the last visit. Volunteers told me there were now kingfishers and voles galore back at the patch I had called in at that morning, so I stopped off there a second time on the home run. I was finally rewarded by a view of one water vole busily eating. It was partially obscured by leaves and twigs so the pictures were not great, especially as I was limited to my bridge camera, my K-1 battery having expired earlier, but I was very happy to see it and have included a shot as an Extra.

L.
17.5.2018 (1405 hr)

Blip #2652 (#2402 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.60-18.3.10)
Consecutive Blip #036
Blips/Extras In 2018 #095/265 + #39/100 Extras)
Day #2976 (579 gaps from 26.3.10)
LOTD #1796 (#1637 + 159 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-1 and Pentax HD P-D FA 28-105mm f/3.5-5.6ED DC WR lens

Wilts And Berks At Wootton Bassett And Swindon, 16 May 2018 (Flickr album of 25 photos)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Cocteau Twins - When Mama Was Moth (1983)
Played on The Chain during Radcliffe/Maconie. From the album Head Over Heels.

One year ago:
The Courts NT

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.