Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Pink Walkathon

Early start this morning to do a 2km walk for Breast Cancer Awareness. (G blipped this earlier this week.)

Fortunately we could walk to the venue (our own local park) and got there in time for the start. First off, they released hundreds of pink balloons into the sky. Awesome! We then started the walk which was led by Breast Friends (local breast cancer survivors).

I have never done this walk before (I've sponsored others on it) and I couldn't quite get over how much people dress up for these things!! Geraldine stood out because of her pink wig, but she wore it because she er, doesn't have any hair! Anyway, saw these ladies dressed as clowns giving balloons to people. I noticed the local man and woman in the back of the frame only when I got home. The contrast was so stark (and interesting), I had to leave them in! Go Large to see them.

Bottom left pic is just to give a flavour of the walk. They must have printed THOUSANDS of those tshirts. I reckon there were around 3,000 people walking. Actually, just checked, and there were 13,000 who did the walk. More info.

Lastly, the Park has a low-level amphitheatre and this was used for the fair, children's play area, shaded space with pink bean bags AND a stage with a local (Filipino) band who sang One Direction, Maroon 5 and Rihanna songs (amongst others) rather well!

A day packed with atmosphere (if you like that kind of thing). I was glad to be home though. It was HOT! Still in the mid 30s (deg C) and I was reminded of the summer during our move. Roll on winter (when our top temps will be in the low 20s).

Quiet the rest of the day.

PS. Something amusing that happened this morning... because of her pink wig, people kept coming up to G wanting to have their picture taken with her! (They do that in the East!)

PPS. Yesterday's picture was not taken using my new lens. I am still (re) familiarising myself with a fixed focal lens. Takes some getting used to after using a zoom for 28 years.

PPPS. Dubai has now gotten so big, with the thousands of people there, G & I didn't see a single person we know! That's amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.