Photo London

Today I visited Photo London, a major event at London's Somerset House where photographic art galleries from around the world are exhibiting some of their work.  It is a very big exhibition, occupying the east, west and south wings of the building (on several floors), plus temporary pavilions erected in Fountain Court and on the terrace overlooking the Thames. There were plenty of visitors, but never so crowded that you couldn't see the exhibits.

Even if I had the money, there were very few pictures that I would actually want to buy and hang on my walls.  However, I did enjoy the pictures by Edward Burtynsky (on show but not, as far as I was aware, on sale).  Of those on sale, the gallery of images by great British photographer Terry O'Neill were the ones which appealed to me most.

Given that the event is full of galleries trying to sell pictures, I did feel that the £29 entry fee was a bit steep, and one complementary cup of coffee barely compensated.

My blip is of one of the less popular displays (or at least, fewest visitors at this point).  I'm sure the lady looking after the display would have been happy to accept my cheque for several thousand pounds for one of the images on display.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.