The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Lock under reconstruction

This lock, on the Thames and Severn Canal, near Ham Mill, Stroud, is being reconstructed. There were no signs of any workers today, but you can see the yellow duckboards to the right, and the new winding gear posts that have been put in.

Honestly, when I heard in 1995 that the canal was being reconstructed, I thought it might take about two years! Seems I was just a litlte out in my estimation.

Steve picked me up after my card making teaching session this morning, and we took a little stroll along the canal. Came home and did some stuff, including making home made pesto for lunch, and poached salmon for supper! Get me and my new fancy cooking! All really simple AND delicious, actually. Tomorrow is a market day, so I've cooked the pasta for my salad already...

I had some disappointing news today: an opportunity that has looked to be within reach has been given the thumbs down, for financial reasons. And my aromatherapy tuition sessions appear unlikely to continue beyond September.
Hmmm. Doors closing. Wonder what new one will open next?

Bomble got into a huge fight with the Monster Cat that terrorises our garden. They were rolling around tearing chunks out of each other. Bomble came off worse, judging by the amount of black fur left lying around after Steve threatened the big red cat with a walking stick. It is quite psychotic: scared of me because I stare it out, but has attacked several humans. Someone shot it a few years back, but got it in the eye. My neighbour also trapped it behind her bath panel for more than 24 hours, but it escaped. I can't think of doing anything quite as drastic myself, but it is a pain.Bomble had an antibiotic injection the other day, I hope this will prevent his fresh wounds going septic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.