Mount Baton . . .

You may wonder why I have blipped such a boring subject as putting up some shelves with the first shot being the batons screwed into place. 
 
Well apart from this being the latest phase of the ‘bed saga’, it’s an opportunity to vent my spleen over an order I received from Amazon.  This will be repeated in ‘Reviews’ of this product later on.
 
I ordered these corner shelves to put the daily/nightly odds and ends that were on the shelves that I removed to make space for the beds.  What can go wrong with cheap quarter round shelves similar to those that I have put up in other rooms on many occasions . . . ???
 
The supplier’s idea of ‘fittings included’ was not batons, but three screws, two of which were screwed into the wall with the heads pushed into pre-drilled holes in one side of the shelf, and the shelf resting on the third screw in the other wall.  So, being a bit annoyed, I went out and bought some wood to make batons.
 
When I unwrapped the shelves I was in for another annoying surprise.  I haven’t come across wood as light as these shelves since I made model aeroplanes some sixty years ago – yes, they are balsa, or something much the same.  So I set about returning them.  I then realised that the effort of making a silk purse from the sow’s ear I had been sent was far less than the effort involved in returning them ‘not fit for purpose’ – which I really should have done.  Adding to that the time delay and the possibility of getting much the same thing again the silk purse became the reluctant option.
 
Sorry to bore you with this lot, but I feel a bit better now . . .
 
The next phase will be to paint the walls and replace the curtains – sometime . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.