Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Any excuse

I feel sorry for the 'Bah, Humbug' brigade (and there's been a fair few of them on Facebook). I learned a lesson when I was quite young when Princess Anne got married in 1973. As a young single bloke I was far too 'cool' to be interested in Royal Weddings so I was probably a bit 'Bah, Humbug' myself. But I overheard some of the girls at work saying to ignore me as I was a bit of a misery (or words to that effect) and I realised that's exactly what I was being and in fact, I was the one missing out. I've pretty much worked since on the basis of 'any excuse to celebrate'; I'm not religious but I enjoy Christmas and Easter, I'm not Irish but I'm happy to drink a Guinness on St. Patrick's Day, and I'm not Scottish but I defy you to keep haggis and whisky away from me on Burns Night. And a Royal Wedding is a great excuse for happiness and celebration. The bubbly went down well and we made far too many sandwiches and cakes so we'll be eating them all weekend, but it was fun. And aren't they a breath of fresh air?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.