Lyta and other stories

By CakeMartyr

Antiques Roadshow

BBC Antiques Roadshow were at the Concorde Museum in Filton the other day. I knew they were coming, and I have always sought a more thorough explanation of my (Polish) grandfather's  war medals . So I went along. It was a beautiful day by the way.

The expert I met was very good. He explained they are worn from left to right as depicted, with the most prestigious medal on the left.

The Monte Cassino Commemorative Cross is that medal. Note that the ribbons are specific to the medals. 

The Polish defence medal, Polska Swemu Obroncy is next. 

The third medal from the left is The 1939-1945 Star. The navy colour, blue is supposed to be on the left as it is the most prestigious force of the three. 

Then the fourth was The Italy Star

The fifth, The Defence Medal has an intriguingly coloured ribbon. The green represents green England, the black is the darkness of the blitz, and orange the colour of fire. Then the last medal, which I don’t recall the name of, but I think it was a battle medal, not defence, has the standard colours of the Union Flag.

The expert said he was very pleased to see something from Poland and he gave a good value for this collection, which included three patches too.

PS Fiona Bruce is my blip for the following day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.