not the royal wedding

I have actually been too busy today to give much thought to THAT wedding! Spent the morning with D, celebrating his birthday, and then it was off on the train to Manchester.

Not a city I know very well, so it took some time to navigate my way to the hotel at Salford Quays   (easier once I realised that 'Metrolink' meant 'trams' !).

The reason for my being here was to take part in an event  which was part of the "Not Quite Light" weekend. You can read about the event HERE. Briefly, it took place from 10.30 - midnight in a multi-story carpark, with readings, talks and performances designed to explore what it's like to be a woman alone after dark. I was giving a talk (plus demo) about bivvying - a strange venue in which to explain the solitary pleasure I get from my monthly forays into the great outdoors...

I enjoyed the challenge of photographing Dani during her skateboard performance!

It was way past midnight when I got back to the hotel but I'm so glad I came. When we arrived at the carpark, it felt like a very hostile environment, but the company of some amazing women and our shared experiences transformed it into a space in which we felt so comfortable that we all agreed that we would quite like to have bivvied there, give half a chance...

...but now I am going to fall into my comfy-looking hotel bed and get some sleep. I'm sorry I'll be behind with comments and suchlike , but will catch up soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.