catching up

last night in manchester, I felt like the only woman not going to a hen party. Today i was the only one without running shoes - not only the Half marathon but also several charity running events were going on, which made the city centre a lively and colourful place, and also a quieter one as most roads were closed to traffic.

I visited two exhibitions at the Manchester Art Gallery - the first "Painting Light and Hope" celebrated the amazing painter and suffragist Annie Swynnerton - I can't believe I'd not heard of her before today (see extra) - and the second "And Breathe" was about art and mindfulness. 

In the afternoon I toured the People's History Museum - they have some amazing banners on display and a whole area devoted to textile conservation.

Then I decided to go and visit my friends Lizzie and Frank,  who live near me at home but are hardly ever there since they bought a narrowboat! It's usually moored at Skipton but they're chugging along the Leeds-Liverpool canal just now and are presently in Chorley, which is a stones-throw from Manchester (a train ride away, at least). It was lovely to catch up with them and I had a very enthusiastic welcome from their dog, Bella May :-)

I had a tour of the boat  and we sat down to enjoy vegan curry and a glass of wine before I returned to the Big City.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.