A new hike!

Today we said a sad good bye to our lovely wwoofer, Eva...who has been with us for the past 2 1/2 weeks. She was awesome, very sweet, sensitive and so helpful around Big Hill.

After that Terry and I headed off for a hike to a new area......it's been a long while since he trekked this path, which apparently leads out to the ocean. Well, to say it was difficult going is putting it mildly! This would have been a very lovely hike, if it wasn't for the layer of fallen leaves, which were mostly soaked by the running water that cascaded down most of the paths! Tree roots get very slippery when wet, and I have to admit I'm not as sure footed as i used to be.....one of the crappy aspects of getting older!!! However, my wonderful Terry came to the rescue! I mentioned I was on the look out for a stick i could use to give me some extra stability (still find it difficult to think of using a walking stick!!!), so after a few moments, he whipped out his swiss army knife, and using the trusty saw blade, he began cutting down a very straight mountain maple sappling! It had such a smooth green bark, felt strong and sturdy in my hand....i was totally impressed! What a man!

We had a lovely drive to and from the hiking path.....and this is one of the scenes we encountered. The colours in this part of the island are still hanging on! After our hike, we headed to a familiar place for dinner, just across the Seal Island Bridge. Lovely!

And now we begin a fall and winter without wwoofers....it's always bitter sweet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.