2005

My sunday-walk-friend left back to Holland for the summer, so I took my Sunday walk alone today with my camera. I walked along El Clot de Galvany and saw some flamingos and lizards and birds and turtles. And also one dog (they are not allowed into the area) and two cats. This one was in a tree.

I was pretty tired when I got back. The heat truck suddenly and I took more time to just stand and watch than I had anticipated. I was home an hour later than I intended. So it was lot hotter by noon. So lot of liquids and a cup of coffee to bounce back.

After lunch and doggie walk it was time to trim Amadeus. I did Buddha yesterday. After about 1,5 hours Amadeus was all in 1mm and it was time to wash him and Buddha after him. They both look very good and I think they are more comfortable now. Tomorrow hopefully Nelson will get the same treatment and then we don't have to do this until early August and after that treatment they can grow their fur into winter length.

Rest of the evening- despite doggie walk - will be spent watching tv My Friend Rockefeller and a glass on tinto de verano. I think I deserve it. :-)

Oh, I forgot did I tell you that our beach has been closed due to Portuguese man o' war. "The Atlantic Portuguese man o' war (Physalia physalis), also known as the man-of-war or floating terror, is a marine hydrozoan of the family Physaliidae found in the Atlantic, Indian and Pacific Oceans. Its venomous long tentacles deliver a painful sting, which on extremely rare occasions can kill humans. Despite its appearance, the Portuguese man o' war is not a true jellyfish but a siphonophore, which is not actually a single multicellular organism (true jellyfish are single organisms), but a colonial organism made up of specialized individual animals (of the same species) called zooids or polyps. These polyps are attached to one another and physiologically integrated, to the extent that they cannot survive independently, and therefore have to work together and function like an individual animal."  Quote from wikipedia

They should go back as soon as the water gets hot. I hope that's soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.