Mount Saint Helena

I love the view across the Laguna to Mt. St. Helena which is in Napa County, just over the hills from us in Callistoga. We have often talked about climbing it, but have never gotten around to it. We may have left it too long as walking around the flatlands of the laguna seems to have more appeal these days. It was supposed to be cool and cloudy all day today, but it turned out to be a perfect temperature for a gentle walk. I couldn't help thinking once again how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful place. As we drove up our driveway, a doe and her fawn were browsing on our roses, and later we saw a fox checking out the compost pile.

Although a good portion of my day yesterday was taken up with deodorizing both our dog and our house after the skunk encounter, I finally found the time to watch The Wedding. The coverage here began at 4:00am so I had already decided to record it. I loved all of it...from the British pomp and ceremony, to the wonderful American Bishop, Michael Curry who stole the show with his sermon on the power of love and his quotes from Martin Luther King . All the Americans were smiling and nodding, like "oh yeah, those black preachers know how to preach" while the  British reactions were more, well restrained... or perhaps they were just struggling to  keep a straight face....

On the other hand, the Americans practiced a bit more restraint in the hat department...and honey, black ladies know how to dress up for church on Sundays. Megan's mother was impressive and dignified in a situation that must have been way out of her comfort zone. 

If I had been invited to that wedding, I would probably have been in a total panic over what to wear on my head, but I'm pretty sure it wouldn't have been a flowered pink flying saucer. Good thing the issue didn't come up. I don't think OilMan's Keen shoes would have gone over too big either....

Harry and and Meghan will do a lot to make the monarchy relevant without destroying it as the  institution it is. And they made some of us proud to be Americans again. And, oh yes, I think The Dress was a perfect combination of elegance and restraint...very Audrey Hepburn. I was pleased to read that there were California poppies embroidered somewhere on that incredible veil.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.