wrperry

By wrperry

Nuthatch Family

I have been watching a White-breasted Nuthatch nest in the branch of an old cherry tree since the end of March.  I blipped activity around the nest in March and April, including the addition of part of a squirrel's tail.  We've been away for 10 days so I was happy when I went down the walk to pick up the newspaper this morning, and saw a bird come out of the nest.  I gathered up my equipment, including my tripod since the lighting wasn't ideal, and set it up in the front yard.  Not much was happening until I looked down and there was a baby sitting under the tree.  At first I was afraid he had fallen out, since he wasn't moving, but before long he stretched out his wings and hopped away.  I waited a few minutes and saw an adult sitting in the pine tree, and then again hanging upside down with a squirmy worm for the babies (extras).  All in all a very pleasant way to start the day.  Have a wonderful Monday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.