The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Rainbow

After Sunday's rain, I took advantage of the comparative sunshine to go out with the camera. I wanted to make use of my 12-24mm lens (18-36mm in 35mm equivalent) and decided the canal was the place to be. I'd been heading there a couple of days before when I'd become sidetracked at Calstone, but this time I made it to Horton Bridge. The light was quite exceptional, as it was clearly raining in the middle distance but the sun was breaking through the clouds giving a curious mix of effects. The autumn gold of the trees along the towpath was magnificent and I got some shots I was pleased with, but I was intrigued by the skyscape further east and decided to continue to the Barge Inn at Honeystreet.

I'd read earlier in the week that the inn, a popular community and canalside pub that had been the subject of a TV documentary (linked to in a previous blip), had unexpectedly closed overnight, to the surprise of villagers and staff, and decided to see for myself.

There was a sign in the door suggesting it may reopen, and men were at work on a extension to the rear of the pub that looked like some kind of art space. I had thought on my last visit that the menu and prices seemed to be aimed at customers more affluent than those who lived in the village or were moored on the canal, but who knows?

After taking a few pictures and chatting to a few boatees I returned via Horton and Bishop's Cannings as the rain caught up with me, and as I crossed the main road a brilliant rainbow manifested to my right, and I pulled over to get a picture.

I had only blipped a rainbow once before, and I had used the wide-angle lens to contain the whole rainbow, so as it was an event that belonged uniquely to the day, it became my choice of blip.

L.
3.11.2012

Blip #828
Consecutive Blip #041
Day #949

Alternatives:
Towpath Gold
Back At The Office
Honeystreet Skyscape
Narrowboats And Alton Barnes White Horse

Lenses: Pentax 12-24mm, Pentax 17-70mm, Sigma 70-300mm


Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes - The Fever (1976)
The post on this day had brought a CD containing the first two albums by Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes, a band I had much enjoyed seeing at the Rainbow in 1977. The Fever is a song written by Bruce Springsteen that he had recorded in 1973 but had not released except on a demo (The original finally surfaced in 1998 on his 18 Tracks out-takes collection). Southside Johnny's version features Miami Steve on guitar, from the E-Street Band, and now equally well known as Dante Silvio in The Sopranos, and currently on TV in Lilyhammer.

One year ago: Zoo Trip #17: Bristol Zoo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.