The Bard

“Those who speak in spiritual terms routinely refer to God as creator but seldom see "creator" as the literal term for "artist". I am suggesting you take the term "creator" quite literally. You are seeking to forge a creative alliance, artist-to-artist with the Great Creator. Accepting this concept can greatly expand your creative possibilities.”
Julia Cameron, The Artist's Way

I'm awake at 5.30 - a.m. that is - to another glorious morning, very auspicious for day one of The Shamanic Lands gathering.  The fields outside my window look their best with a fresh cloak of green glistening with morning dew, and having been awake so early it's only fitting that I doze off again and am woken by the hammering on the door - I've overslept and I'm late for breakfast; shades of schooldays over again...  Fortunately I made it to Llandrindod in time for the start, and also managed my cooked breakfast without rushing.


Shamanism is relatively familiar territory for me, but even so there is plenty that is new to explore; from the opening presentation [by a Druid from Anglesey] and his introduction of Annwn, the Otherworld, to the Yew - found in church yards of course - as a sacred tree of transformation and rebirth.  I've read much of this before, but today was the first time I'd heard it talked about in this sort of forum as a living part of peoples' spiritual path, and not as some object of academic curiosity [but not to be taken too seriously].  I was also introduced to Awen, described as "the song of the universe singing in praise of itself".  I found this a wonderfully poetic description, so full of possibilities and something with much meaning in relation to my exploration of creativity as expressed through my life and how I make a living as photographer [amongst other things].

It was interesting how many described their spiritual path as something they were called to, not something that they'd necessarily chosen.  There was a strong element of the "Damascene moment" to some experiences, sometimes precipitated by illness, and resisted until a moment of acceptance, when the path to recovery to a different life began.  There was a lighter side too of course, "welcome to the lunatic fringe" was a greeting I heard, welcome home thought I. 

I found inspiration for my photo today during a wander around Llandrindod in search of lunch - which I found in a community cafe [my lunch, not the photo.  Well actually both as I did photograph the raspberry pavlova but decided on a different photo for the Blip].  Although I didn't know it at the time, the statue is of Welsh landscape artist Thomas Jones, amongst whose works is a painting titled "The Bard", rather appropriate for the Druid element of this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.