A New Book

Dear Diary,

I had had my mail held for the week I was away and it arrived yesterday, lots of it, including several new books.  I had been waiting for this particular one for awhile.  I met Brother Paul when I stayed at Gethsemane Abbey in Kentucky a few years ago.  He studied under Thomas Merton and like Merton, he is a photographer.  I've created a collage of the book cover and three photographs I made when he took me to see Merton's hermitage which was quite an honor since it is usually off limits to visitors.

Today, Mary and I will meet her sister at a local restaurant for a late lunch and then she will go stay with her and my "birthday week" will end.  It has been a great one but I must confess I am ready for a little alone time now, it has been so busy.  It is that yin/yang thing I guess.  I must balance "busy" with "quiet" besides, I have some wonderful new books to read!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.