Paradise

In all the years I’ve been coming here, I’ve never seen Madeira look so beautiful. I walked into town after a lovely swim (not a soul in the pool with me !) and everywhere the flowers were simply amazing.

There were lots of butterflies, on some occasions more than a dozen Monarchs darting, posing, teasing........ my chosen photo was in the gardens opposite The Ritz and the theatre.

For ages friends have mentioned an interesting looking restaurant, Aconchega. I was wondering where to try for lunch when I spotted a number 1 bus at some traffic lights. I waved to the driver and he opened the door for me !!!

It was idyllic, my new favourite spot?.....views to die for and the food just stunning.

Opposite there’s Tulipa Garden Centre. When I walked in, I said to the guy on the desk,” This isn’t a garden centre, it’s like the Show Marquee at Chelsea.” He smiled. His company exhibit there and he knew that it was Press Day. I bought a couple of optimistic gifts and headed for the bus back.

I collected a ticket for a concert at Reid’s tomorrow night and I will have a well deserved swim when I’ve finished watching the Time Trial in the Giro...........yes. Paradise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.