One year on.

It’s exactly a year since I had my second new hip. Although I’ve already managed a few walks and I’ve been pleased with my progress, I wanted to mark the occasion with a special walk.

It was wet early today on the North East side of the island and the stunningly beautiful Larano walk has a tricky and demanding descent on basalt. If it’s rained at all it’s lethal. So we switched to Plan B.

This walk was a similar length (8km) but was flat and muddy - infinitely safer. I’ve told Philippe, our super guide, to book me on Larano for my December visit.

It was a small group, just 5 of us. Philippe pointed out the vegetation, butterflies (my particular interest) and the birds. We saw several Firecrests. I love these tiny creatures, but they’re hard to focus on crisply.

As is so often the case in Madeira, the light changes, the sun comes out and you have such a range of superb views.

Going round Eagle Rock was interesting. The original Portuguese knew full well that the birds they found nesting there were buzzards, but eagles sound so much more attractive.

And I was back for part of the Giro.......and you know how I love the Italian Lakes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.