Beewriter

By Beewriter

22

I went for a swim first thing this morning and then I considered going into town to see what was happening to remember the twenty two lives lost at the Arena Attack last year. Prince William was going to the service at the Cathedral, but I knew it would be extremely busy and I would have to get there very early and hang around if I wanted to see anything. If I had kept up with my 'official' position as Cathedral photographer then I am sure I could have got in to a good place for photographs....but with work, my knee and life basically taking over I haven't been in touch with them for months. 

I decided that I would give town a miss as I could see the highlights on the news tonight. Instead I got out my bike and pedalled off to the Quays. It was glorious in the sunshine and there were lots of people sitting out on the deckchairs. The big screen was showing the service at the Cathedral so I sat down to watch it. There was music playing, people were laughing and chatting and enjoying the sunshine....as two thirty approached people started to come out of the BBC and a hush descended. At half two everyone stood and Media City was silent. I have to say there were tears in my eyes.

I wandered over to the BBC building took a few pics of the new art work on the window. I think it looks fabulous. Then I set off on the long pedal home. I stopped briefly to see two families of Canada geese that were meandering around the business park, there were about twelve goslings between them all running round their parents. It was a lovely sight to see.

I had done fourteen miles by the time I arrived home, hot, aching and sweaty. I had sort of planned to do twenty two miles today in remembrance, but although the heart was willing the body wasn't! I was going to collapse in the garden with my book but Jude sent a text saying she was home so I rode round to catch up with her. To be blunt...I'm completely buggered now and I think I shall head to bed. 

I know I am behind on comments, but I will endeavour to catch up with people soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.