RobSmallshire

By RobSmallshire

The Three Immigrants

Liz, Jacob and Freya depart for Norway first thing. Austin and I wrap up at the beachside residence, and head for the conference. I spend much of the day writing up notes to help me through the demo tomorrow. I discover I can’t communicate with Amazon Web Services over the conference WiFi; tomorrow I’ll have to do some tunneling.

After the conference we head out with Paul Rayner, an immigrant from Australia to Denver. We enjoy the beautiful riverside setting, entertain ourselves watching Paul try to eat a ludicrously large piece of cow, and try the green wine recommended to us by an Uber driver (It’s like flat champagne). Inevitably there is port. We pay. They bring more complementary port. We’re at Port Ground Zero here and they want us to know it. We wisely depart when they offer even more free port.

After dinner we scale the heights behind the restaurant and cross over the famous Ponte Luis I back into Porto. We stop in the railway station to gawp at the incredible ceramics depicting epic battle scenes. Shortly after we arrive at our AirBnB, which is entered through a Subway fast food outlet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.