RobSmallshire

By RobSmallshire

Cruising

A frustrating day at the conference. The conference WiFi is not reliable enough for me to maintain a connection to Amazon in Ireland. I try 4G cellular. It's barely an improvement. What takes four minutes in Norway takes 90 minutes in Portugal. There are the wrong type of packets on the line. Austin helps me set up a VPN to Ireland. It doesn't help, I give up and decide to drop that part of our demo.

The time for our presentation arrives. The crowd is thin. It's not a crowd. Barely a smattering. Austin presents with his usual competence. The acoustics are awful and even though I know what he's saying I find it difficult to discern his words.  A few more people come in part way through. More people leave. Is it the acoustics? Is it our material? Are we just at the wrong conference? Perhaps we need to be more discerning with allocating our time and money.

I wade through my demo. Everything goes to plan, though I leave somewhat deflated. At another time, in another venue it will go better.

The evening conference dinner is at the South Cruise Terminal. Impressive architecture with swooping helices faced with white, hexagonal ceramics. We enjoy dinner with the folks from Cucumber Ltd and take the bus back into the city. I wisely decline talk of whisky and head back to our AirBnB. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.