Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Seeing red

Last night I was thinking about what I myself could do to avoid tripping on uneven pavements (other than complaining to the council).

Then I thought about my feet.

I have quite small but wide feet and recently have been wearing trainers that are too long for me in order to accommodate width.

A podiatrist once explained proprioception to me (Proprioception (/ˌproʊprioʊˈsɛpʃən, -priə-/[1][2] PRO-pree-o-SEP-shən), from Latin proprius, meaning "one's own", "individual", and capiocapere, to take or grasp, is the sense of the relative position of one's own parts of the body and strength of effort being employed in movement.)


It occurred to me that by wearing the wrong size shoes I wasn't giving me feet a fair chance to get a feel for the ground.


After bit of research I went to Lilywhites in Piccadilly Circus to be fitted with a nice pair of wide fitting trainers, the correct size for my feet.


Both my feet and the rest of me feel more optimistic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.