An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Lovely Lavender...

I was up bright and early this morning as I had arranged to talk to a friend to discuss COSLA's National Strategy and Guidance on Charges applying to Non-residential Social Care Services that come into effect in October this year.

Basically Local Authorities are changing the way they charge disabled people who use them to access self-directed care services.  The new charging system is based on a disabled person's income rather than the amount of care they receive therefore, in a lot of cases,  someone getting just a few hours of support can and will be charged the same amount as someone getting many hours of support.

If that's not bad enough, the charges are going through the roof so that one young person I know who currently contributes £8 a week to their care package, will now be charged £77 a week.  

As you can imagine, this is causing fear and panic among many disabled adults who, once their contribution is taken, are left with £134 a week to live on to a pay the rest of their bills such as food, clothing, heating, transport costs etc etc.   Having a social life doesn't get a look in.

I have heard of one young lady does volunteering work but relies on taxis to get her to her volunteering position as she can't drive or use public transport.  She's now worried that she will have to give her volunteering position up as she won't be able to afford the taxi fares, which would be a huge loss to her and to the organisation she volunteers with.  

Worrying times but I am hoping the Third Sector organisations will get a hold of this issue and start campaigning for change.  

So it was a bit of a thorny start to a lovely day.  

The rest of the day I have spent trying to get organised for our few days away next week.  David and I are going to a gorgeous little house on the shore of Loch Tay, and I really do mean the shore as when you look out the lounge window you think you're on a boat as the house is built on stilts over the water.

We've booked it from the Monday to the Friday and it's the longest we have ever been away from Alan.  I am as nervous as I am excited but I know he will be in safe hands as his team are excellent, plus we are only an hour away if they need us for anything.  

The weather forecast for next week is fantastic so Alan will hardly be in anyway.  He will be out on adventures too.  I don't think the house has wifi, which I think is a good thing as I just want to be in the moment.  Me, David, my camera and some good books.  Oh and maybe some gin ;-) Bliss!  There will be a lot of back blipping when we get back! :-)))

David and Kenny have been on the golf course all afternoon and I am supposed to meet them there shortly for dinner but it is such a lovely evening I have texted David to say let's just get some delicious pizza from the Italian deli and eat outside in the garden.  That way Lola can have a mad runabout as she's been stuck with me all day.

Hope the sun is shining where you are :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.