An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

“If you hear a voice within you say you cannot paint, then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.” 
― 
Vincent Willem van Gogh


Poor Norma hurt her knee last year at her Pilates class.  It's much better than it was but still gives her bother so she was grateful for the chance to have a gentle swim and walk in the pool this morning.

Afterwards we all headed to Broadslap for breakfast.  The weather was much nicer than we'd been expecting and we ended up sitting chatting for ages, whilst enjoying the lovely scenery.  

When we got back John and Norma headed home, David headed to the driving range and I started compiling my to-do list in preparation for going away to stay at the Boathouse on Loch Tay next week.  

After scaring myself with the length of that list, I decided as a treat (!) I would make my first proper attempt at painting a watercolour in fifteen years, before my course at the beginning of June.  

An hour and a half later, this is what I ended up with.  

I am a bit embarrassed by it but not as embarrassed as I thought I would be.  That's got to be positive, right?  

Unfortunately when I moved on to paint the leaves, my time and patience was running out, but I had already squeezed the paint onto my mixing tray so rather than leave it to dry out (or wash it away) I chucked it on.  A mistake...but one I can learn from.  

I now have a proper baseline painting to measure myself against once I've completed the course, and I had such fun, I might even take my paints to Loch Tay next week.

I was just about to start making dinner when I remembered we'd still to vote.  

We headed off and when we came out of the Town Hall, the people in front of us were heading across the road to the chippy, so like sheep, we followed and ended up having  chicken and chips for dinner.

I was full of good intentions to get things done after dinner but ended up dozing off watching Question Time and just woke up half an hour ago!

It's now 1.20am so time for Blip upload and bed!!!


Norma & Lola

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.