Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

Cutting not Mowing

We have a lawnmower.

It's a rather large one. Petrol driven.

Tamara's father, Predrag, knows all the nuances, and that definitely shows, as he manages to start it without too many problems.

I am sure if it was me I would cause chaos.

Having said that, Tamara and I are going to get a crash course in motor mowers soon, so we can cut the grass every now and then as well.

Most of the garden tasks have been the sole perview of Predrag. He's protective of his garden, and it's either his way, or the highway, if you know what I mean?

I digress.

If you were to walk through the village here, you would see most people cutting grass using a traditional 2 handed scythe.

A traditional tool.

Yes, there are a few people that use other tools and devices, but the scythe still seems to be the "weapon of choice" amongst my neighbours.

Tamara got ours out earlier, and used it to cut some of our grass. She has the technique required for a "close cut". 

Maybe that's in the "genes"?

I need to have a go. Get back to basics.

Any tips on how to use such a scythe effectively?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.