Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

Back to School

The other evening I was stood in front of a small but attentive audience in Banja Luka, describing how each day for me has an adventurous component.

The back story.

Sometime ago, I was contacted by Milena, who runs an English language course at a private University in Banja Luka.

She was looking to have a native speaker help contribute to the syllabus.

Of course. Why not?

So I duly reported for duty to talk to about 10-12 students.

I nearly got lost on the way to the venue due to Google maps not showing too much detail of Banja Luka on my mobile device.

I digress.

The age range of the students was wide to say the least. The language ability also.

I did have a planned talk ready, but I simply could not connect my laptop to the university wifi.

Technology was less than helpful.

Regardless, in true British fashion, I hit plan B.

After all, Prior Planning and Preparation, Prevents Poor Performance.

Right?

So, rather than talking about what it's like for me being an Englishman in the Balkans, and using my blog, vlog and podcasts as examples, I pivoted to talking about what, in my opinion, is "An Englishman".

A few training aids that I had with me, plus my poor drawings on a white board, seemed to resonate.

The time flew I have to say, and I had the impression that some of what I spoke about helped in some way.

Now my local language is weak, without a doubt.

I suffer with social anxiety as it is, and even more so when alone in a unfamiliar environment. I have learned to hide it as best as I can. But it's difficult.

So experiencing the discomfort that some of those students displayed (hoping that I wouldn't direct a question to them  individually), was, in a way, therapeutic for me.

Being able to communicate with each other is most important, as it definitely breaks down misunderstandings and promotes tolerance.

I really hope I get asked again to contribute.

Time will tell.

What languages other than your mother tongue do you speak?

I'll kick off with mine, which is German.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.