Woody Woodpecker!

We’ve covered some miles today!  After breakfast we caught the hop on, hop off bus for 5 stops and ‘hopped’ off at the stop for Kampa Island.  We took the funicular up to the Pétrin Tower, and I actually went up the tower to get the best view of Prague.  Luckily they had a lift to the top, as well as stairs but mum said she’d wait at the bottom and sat and had a drink while I went up.

The tower was modelled on the Eiffel Tower, but is a lot shorter!  The views were amazing, but there was a weird swaying at the top!

When I came down, as we were walking out through the gardens I could hear something in the tree making a kind of chirping/squawking sound, but as much as I looked I couldn’t see anything.  Then a foreign lady tried explaining to me what it was, but of course I didn’t understand her!  She kept pointing to the hole in the tree and all of a sudden a woodpecker landed and started feeding her chick!  I’ve never seen a woodpecker before and was so happy that I had my correct lens on my camera and started shooting away.  It was only afterwards that I saw I’d captured the chick too!

We had a walk round the beautiful rose gardens before catching the funicular back down, and from there we went to Kampa island.  Our guide had told us about the famous John Lennon graffiti wall, so we went to find it - it’s very impressive and I’ve added some photos to my extras.

We had a quick drink in a lovely little restaurant near the wall and decided to book a table there for tonight.  We walked back across the Charles Bridge and then headed down to the river for a boat ride.

Dinner was lovely and we sat on a little balcony overlooking the small canal - Kampa is known as Little Venice and there was an old water wheel on the other side of the canal.

I hoped there’d be a good sunset tonight but it didn’t amount to much, I got a few shots of the castle silhouetted and then we went down to the river bank to get some shots of the bridge lit up - I joined a rather large group of photographers, all with their tripods.  I didn’t have mine, but I’m quite pleased with how they’ve turned out.  I didn’t plan on a bird blip while I’m here as it’s not very ‘Prague’, but it was definitely my photo of the day and was such a wonderful experience to see, that this had to be my Blip.

It’s been another full day and we’re both tired, but it’s been lovely.  Mum’s done really well keeping up, but she said she’s enjoyed it.  Tomorrow we head home, but not until the afternoon so there’ll be time for a last bit of sightseeing.

Happy weekend to you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.