Franz Kafka

I decided to get up early this morning and go out for a wander with my camera before breakfast, so I was in the shower for 6am and out of the hotel by 7am.  Mum was still asleep, but I’d told her last night that if I wasn’t there when she woke up, not to worry.

I wanted to have a wander around the old Jewish quarter and planned to have a walk round the cemetery, but unfortunately it’s part of a museum now so you have to pay to go in, and of course at that time in the morning it was closed.

My Blip today is of the Renaissance house covered in paintings which is called  ‘At the Minute’ and is in the old town square. The writer Franz Kafka lived there with his parents from 1889 to 1896. I found two of Franz Kafka’s statues as well and have added these to my extras.  My only regret is that I didn’t go to the Charles Bridge before the rest of the tourists were up and about as it’s always so busy, and I would have liked a photo of it with nobody on it.

I was back st the hotel at 8.30am and mum was up and had done her packing.  We went down for breakfast and then went out for a walk by the river.  We didn’t need to check out until 12pm and our taxi was picking us up at 12.30.

We walked back through the old square and saw another Thai wedding shoot. This is the third day in a row but they're definitely different couples, but the same photographer and same horse, so maybe he's doing a batch!

After we checked out, we sat and had a drink outside while we waited - it was really hot and the best day so far, weather wise!  Anyway the taxi was on time and we got to the airport at 1pm, we checked in and i received a text from Alan to say the plane was going to be 15 minutes late, according to Google.   Unfortunately there’s a French Air Traffic Control strike which has caused problems.  

My EasyJet flight app said that we’d be leaving at 15.51 instead of the planned 15.10 which wouldn’t have been too bad, however we boarded at 15.25 and only took off just before 5pm!  

We landed at 5.45pm and had to wait for mum’s assistance which I always book to save her having to walk so far through the airport.  25 minutes later and it still hadn’t arrived so we were still sat on the plane with another lady also needing assistance.  The next flight crew arrived and they were doing a quick handover because of course the plane was late for them.  I asked one of the air stewards where they were flying too and he said Venice, so I joked that we’d be happy with a trip to Venice if mum’s buggy didn’t arrive.  As so much time had passed, I decided to leave mum on the plane and to go and retrieve our case as I didn’t like the idea of it being left on the carousel on its own, for fear of losing it.  

Anyway all’s well that ends well, the special assistance buggy turned up and I’d just retrieved the case when they arrived in the baggage hall.  Alan was waiting for us and we got straight off, calling at the Indian for us and the fish and chip shop for mum.

I'm so tired after being up so early that ‘m in bed now and enjoying the comfort of my new mattress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.