Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Bird week

I haven't managed to get a kingfisher photo for  a while either but today when out with Blipmate we saw 2 or maybe 3, a bit hard to tell. I think Blipmate calls them, they always seem to come for her.
It was full tide and they make use of a dead tree that has fallen over into the water to perch on and fish from. Ideal for us as we can see them from some distance and sneak up on them. I was using the SX60 that has that slightly extra zoom and I managed to control the shakiness I get on full zoom with a light weight camera. We had few chances so I was pleased I got one decent one.
We managed to find a sheltered spot in the sun out of the bitterly cold southerly wind blowing in from Antarctica.We did have to contend with dogs and their talkative owners but that is part of the challenge. The birds are probably used to all the activity down there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.