Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Visitors

We had been seeing the deer coming back to the yard foraging for food so Jerry got some corn to put in the feeder we have..and then they came back and lingered for a while.   There are three bucks and two young does.  I keep hoping that a mama deer will bring a baby by..it is close to time for the babies to be born in our area if they have not been already.    There is so much lost habitat that I feel like putting food out everywhere.

They are also enjoying the wild blackberry flowers that are growing in the thicket we left which is right behind them in this photo.     They are actually standing in the yard here..very close to the oak tree where I have the old bike.  I had to take the photo out the front door glass.  

Of course the dog was having a fit to get out there and chase them out of her yard.  It is really weird that as long as I don't look out the window or the door, she will lay on the porch and watch them but as soon as I make a move with the camera she thinks she has to chase them.    Jerry has a pop up blind for hunting that I am going to put up on the front porch.  Then I can sit out there in the late evening and wait for them hoping to get better photos.   And they will come as long as we keep the corn plentiful!  

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.