Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Berry Patch

We went out for breakfast and then drove the hour to the blueberry farm where we proceeded to get two gallon buckets of berries and a jar of honey produced by the bees at the farm.     Luckily the berries were so full I only had to pick from three bushes as the previous people picking did not reach up high.  The upper branches were loaded with berries which made the job so much easier than walking down the rows and hunting for berries.     Jerry did that!?   Plus the bushes were so high, I was in the shade for most of the time!!  

Thinking about a blueberry and peach cobbler sometime this week after we eat the shortbread cookies I made yesterday.   

 When we were in Moab, Utah we ate lunch twice at a little cafe/bakery called Sweet Cravings Bakery and Bistro.  They had the best food but also baked!  A cookie or petit four or a scone was given with lunch ( we had a coconut macaroon and a tiny piece of strawberry cake).  Samples were there for us to try so I tried the shortbread cookie that said "jalapeno shortbread".  Sweet with a bite!   I bought a small package of six cookies to eat along our journey.   When I got home, I asked google to find the recipe and it did.   Very easy and taste just like the ones I had.    Basic shortbread (butter, flour and sugar) with diced jalapeno and some grated cheddar.  First bite is sweet but as you chew a little kick happens from the jalapeno. Not overpowering...just unexpected and tasty!   The cheese is not really tasted at all so when I make them again I will probably leave it out.    Very different but really good!   I had to hide them under a plate so I would not eat more than one at a time.  They are that good!!    A photo is the extras!    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.