Chamois "on Tap"

Hidden behind a rock, watching a delightful herd of chamois enjoying the fresh grass near the farm in the Nant Valley, I heard 4 people emerge from the forest. Of course the chamois took off uphill. This one was left behind, she didn't see the others move off as she was between 2 farm buildings. I certainly didn't know she was there till I was only about 20m away. We stared at each other for what felt like a couple of minutes. I was completely still and she did not seem to register that I was human until I lifted my camera! She joined the others pretty quickly. My apologies to her!

On the way down I saw the remains of a chamois and took a photo of a foot (in extras) you can see how perfectly adapted they are for climbing and walking on the snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.