Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Butterfly house to the rescue

This morning I headed out to Pennington flash. There had been reports of a Temmincks Stint on the spit, which is supposed to be quite rare apparently, but after half an hour of absolutely nothing, I moved on to do the rest of the hides. Seems like all the birds were taking it easy on Sunday morning and hiding. I dropped into the Tom Edmondson hide on my way back, but still nothing...and this was 3 hours later. It was still full of twitchers all with their scopes pointing at the likely spot, drinking coffee and eating sandwiches….they are so organised and so patient, unlike me! 

So, not satisfied with anything I'd seen today, I popped into the Butterfly House to get my blip for today. Quite a few more species since the last time I visited which was nice to see, but the swallowtail I was after was not for settling anywhere nice, only on the roof, or an orange, so this is the one I chose - not sure what it is, but I thought it was quite nice, even with a damaged wing. 

Spent the rest of the afternoon watching the Grand Prix and the Giro, and trying to plan our next trip, but not really getting anywhere - I get so distracted by other stuff I find when googling.... 

Thanks for all the hearts, stars and comments for yesterday's woodpeckers which were much appreciated - they were a delight to see

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.