Lace Making in Ashby

We spent a very enjoyable afternoon in Ashby at the Ashby Arts Festival exhibitions. Or at least I did. I think Len felt under sufferance although he was allowed to bring Basil into the tea room and also enjoyed a cup of tea.

Three of my photos were in the Open Photography Exhibition, one of which was Highly Commended. Very gratifying.

We were all asked to choose our favourite painting and then I went to see the Lace Making demonstration and the lady asked me if I'd like a go. I did. To achieve a pattern, you have to repeat steps but that can be calming. I enjoyed my time with the bobbins.

The demonstrator tells me that this is the Vermeer Lacemaker pose. It's not quite, but I can see what she means. I needed to shoot from a lower angle, for a start.

Then I went to take photos of the roundabout at the top of North Street which had been decorated by a local WI. Themed on bike riding the National Forest trail and very colourful.

I think that's when Len really got fed up.

Home in sultry weather with the intimations of storms all about us, but nothing striking, yet, at least.

I put on The Last Jedi. I wanted a bit of escapism.

Had a good chat with Beardy Brian at the exhibition and also bumped into Garry and his wife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.