Mole

There are things that one simply has to accept. Such as a mole in the vegetable garden. This particular mole has so far been quite kind in doing most of its work between the rows but time will tell.

One ought to take it as a compliment. It shows that the worm population is healthy and that despite the chickens having had a good 12 months and more of scratching around on the plot.

I used to have a solar-powered mole scarer but it seems to have died and somehow the thought of the awful sound for the poor animal doesn't appeal.

My father was an ace mole catcher having in his youth earned money in Norfolk catching them. I think they used to get a penny or two for each dead mole. I think it was an "agricultural" measure than anything connected with "fashion". If I remember correctly the skins were simply hung up on the barbed wire fences. When my father died, I left behind the old mole traps he still had.

Another depressing day despite the good weather. Stupidity, injustice and ignorance abound. Wonder why one bothers and doesn't simply follow the course of the Trumps of this world. I wish I had my grandchildren close at hand so as to change this.

On Friday I was checking the weather forecast on my mobile phone. The App I have plays sounds in the background appropriate to the weather - rain, thunder etc and on a nice sunny day, the baa of a sheep, the moo of a cow, the cock-a-doodle-do of a rooster but also the cuckoo of a cuckoo. I remarked, "haven't heard the cuckoo this year". And promptly on Saturday, the cuckoo arrived, or least I heard it for the first time.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.