Food for thought

Ireland has again shown just how mature it is and has now clearly taken the leading role of those sovereign countries domiciled in the group of islands off the northern French coast,  the so-called British Isles (why is that?).


I don’t think any of the “Yes” voters in the abortion referendum is keen on the idea of anyone having to go through an abortion but the existing law was clearly totally unreasonable and health threatening to the lives of each and every woman. There is no intention of replacing it with any law that enforces abortion and so those who are of this belief are free to follow their consciences.


I suspect there may have been a near 100% Yes from the male voters if the only other logical  alternative had been a mandatory castration for all males on achieving voting age.


The Brexiteers will claim the Irish are simply beaten into such decisions and would claim the two EU referendums they had a few years ago shows that they are weak. The truth is that they accept that certain important matters with huge and long-term consequences are often decided on a spur of the moment emotional feeling which has little or nothing to do with the question at hand. They are not afraid to admit they got it wrong and revisit the decision.


The Irish approach to modern day issues shows just how bankrupt the politics of their neighbours are. I am often very pleased that I, a British Citizen, had my right to vote taken away. At least no one can blame me for the idiocracy of the government. I don’t know if anyone heard about the unbelievable statement of the “Honourable Member” for the constituency of Shrewsbury who twittered this week:


“Appalled that the Foreign Office signed away our British rights to war compensation in 1990 upon German reunification. What a travesty and one which I intend to challenge in Commons.“


This from a Conservative MP, born in Warsaw after the war talking about one of the most important landmarks in European history since the end of WWII and which his party was part of even though it’s leader Mrs Thatcher fought with all her might against the reunification but was luckily overpowered by the USA. Added to this it is factually wrong – ask the people of countries like Greece.


Such things are however every day even in one’s private life. People who apply double standards or get worked up about matters of which they have no idea. There are even people who put all their trust on the internet and the information it gives out – Muppets like me (Muppet in Irish is apparently worse than Eejit and I won’t go as far as using the #1 in this list of top 15 Irish words for such people!)


I was waiting for a small packet to arrive with the carrier I normally hate the most (DPD) even though in recent months they have had a female driver who has been very good. I checked on the status and saw (they have a “live” map) that the van was in the next village with just one stop before they came to us. I went down the drive to wait and waited and waited and cursed that the very precise time window they also showed had long gone. The van had not moved an centimetre inch in the last fifteen minutes and then suddenly it disappeared off the radar. I jumped in the car and dashed around our village but couldn’t find a sign of the eejit driver.
 
Returned home and let off my anger at MrsMY and Angie who had just returned from a hack. I was hacked off big time and swearing the complaint letter and the hundreds of negative reviews I was about to write would bankrupt the company. I went to the front door to get a coffee and ……… saw that the driver had been ages before and had left the parcel on the front step, probably when I was out delivering Luna to the girls to do the home half of their hack.
 
Shortly after the discovery I rechecked the website and the delivery time was now shown, indeed before the first attempt, I had made at tracking.
 
Well at least I got my Blip waiting for the driver – a tree that was buzzing with every type of flying insect one can imagine collection pollen or drinking nectar. Flies, bumble bees and thankfully loads of my bees. I have no idea what the tree is.


I could try looking it up on the internet but have sworn to never again believe anything I read there.


(PS I guess as a result of the football match in Kiev last night that most Liverpuddlians will be calling for Wales to be ejected from the United Kingdom UEFA and FIFA but will also, as always, claim "it was the Krauts fault".)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.